The search for static security – in the law and elsewhere – is misguided. The fact is security can only be achieved through constant change, adapting old ideas that have outlived their usefulness to current facts.”- William Ostler

 

It’s nearly 11:30 on an August night as I sit on a veranda in the southern United States musing about the turning point that is my life of late. Cicadas are singing some bedtime medley that the pianist in me recognizes as being in the key of C. I feel a heavy shroud of humidity clinging to my body; a stickiness forming on my exposed arm skin. An unique scent wafts through the black sky of this beautiful rural space. It seems to be some sort of botanical amalgam of various deciduous trees. And I can just make out the scent of the marigolds and zinnias that inhabit the planters scattered among the nearly thirty acres this romantic farmhouse sits atop.  It’s a far cry from the more arid climate of my home out west in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. It’s just the sort of respite from the rigors of my crazy life that my soul–and body for that matter–needed.

Sometimes we all need vacations from the life we have. Little jaunts into these worlds–literal or figurative–that allow us the opportunity to see that what has been isn’t all there is.

That things can be different; if only in our imaginations. There’s hope in that.

There’s this exhaustion that seems to seep into my heart and body sometimes that makes me feel a little like the Tin Man in the Wizard of Oz. You know when he gets stuck mid motion and creaks back to animated state only after having his joints greased.

That’s what this vacation has been for me; an opportunity to re-animate my soul from its slumbering state.

So, while I think it’s safe to say we all love a getaway, I think the greater challenge for most people lies in the returning-to-normal-life portion of it all.  And this seems especially pertinent as the too-short summer draws to a dreaded close, I thought I’d see if there weren’t some pointers for employing the all too necessary return to our real lives.

Envision:

The key to success in any arena lies in our ability to envision that success. Conversely, this is also the key to failure. What we see in our mind, we will create in our lives. Call it the Law of Attraction. Call it whatever you like. The reality is that our mind and its many facets therein, need a set of instructions; a pattern to follow. If we imagine insumountable obstacles and constant discouragement, our minds will assume that that’s the path it’s destined to follow.

Plan:

You’ve heard it before: If you fail to plan, you plan to fail. Cliche, but true. I really think plans show the Universe how serious we are about our intended goal. Just remember the next thing on this list. Without it, the plan is useless.

Be flexible:

Flexibilty is essential. Have you ever had a plan (and I think this is more often the case than not) only to have it lead you down some competely unexpected path that you would never have thought of initially?

A mind’s like a parachute: it works best when open.

Recruit and delegate:

Don’t try and do it alone. No matter how incredibly adept you are at just about anything, there is nothing to be lost by sharing some responsibility with others. It works well to employ the gifts of those around you in bringing these goals to fruition. Just think how beneficial it is to have the gifts and abilities of several people at your disposal. Strength in numbers and all that.

It does not diminish your success in the least to share it with others. In fact, I’d say it grows exponentially.

So, I take a cleansing breath; allowing the intake of night air to rush my lungs and rejuvenate me. I feel a tingle of excitement at the prospect of embarking upon a new season–taking with me the strength and experience garnered over the last several months. I invite the Universe to lend its ever- present hand and give me its gentle nudges toward the future that lies around the proverbial  corner.

“I do not claim to have the answers. All I claim to have is an open mind that is willing to adapt to new information as it becomes available.”- Leif Ericsson 

 

 

 

 

 

