“Are you upset little friend? Have you been lying awake worrying? Well, don’t worry…I’m here. The flood waters will recede, the famine will end, the sun will shine tomorrow, and I will always be here to take care of you.” -Charlie Brown to Snoopy

Sometimes I go to bed at night and as I drift into unconsciousness, I have this small, quiet thought enter my mind: tomorrow will be better.

Where I got this idea, is beyond me.

But it does serve to calm me down as I approach the unwinding of an arduous day. This calm, reassuring voice endeavors every evening to bring me down from a day fraught with the anxieties and stressors of which the human experience is composed.

Is it my sub-conscience attempting to talk me down from the proverbial ledge? Is it the small, unerring voice of the Universe?  Is it some friendly ghost? (Casper?)

I know this: that each night as lower my wearied frame into bed, I hear the chanting in my mind’s ear. (If you can have a mind’s eye, why can’t you have a mind’s ear?)

Tomorrow will be better. Tomorrow will be better. Tomorrow will be better.

These consoling words seep into my enervated bones, soothing and placating an exhausted mind and body.

And you know what? It usually is better. Usually.

Maybe it changes my expectations. Perhaps it serves to remind my less-conscience mind that there’s something better on the horizon and that raises a level of hope. Possibly, it causes my mind to find and adhere to the greater, more positive aspects of the subsequent days.  In short, maybe it causes me to see what I expect to see; I find what I expect to find.

There is in this world an abundance of negativity. The overwhelming majority of the planet has adopted an attitude of “kill or be killed.” Which is with good reason. Most of us have experienced rejections and disappointments that have left us wary and suspicious. But every time I think that those thoughts might permeate the membrane of positivity I systematically erect, something out there leans into my sleepy ear and whispers,

Tomorrow will be better.

I have a friend who recently attempted suicide. She, in a moment of extreme despair, swallowed an ungodly amount of prescription pills and laid down for a long nap. I didn’t believe then that she had wanted to die. I truly believe she just wanted to sleep; to succumb to the lure of a chemically-induced coma from which she would awaken and find that her world had righted itself.  While none of this makes sense to the rational mind, no one in extreme pain is thinking rationally, and no one who attempts suicide is not in extreme pain.

She couldn’t hear that same voice I hear every night. Either that or she didn’t believe it.

It’s more than just believing that  tomorrow is a day worth getting out of bed for. There’ s obviously action required to bring this thought–this belief–to fruition. But just nursing that modicum of hope, is an excellent starting point. It is  purpose in its rawest, most infinitesimal form. Taking this tiny seed, you can cultivate it into a full-fledged axiom and that can lead you to the birth of a phenomenally effective method by which to gain the momentum required to move forward; to shake the fog of the crappy days that threaten to suffocate your every ability to function and progress. It’s the sure-fire technique for achieving whatever incredible-ness for which the Universe created you.

So after a day that, while not crappy, had it’s bumps, I lie here in bed and tell myself aloud, “Tomorrow will be better.” And once I turn off the lights I feel it echoed around me, a persistent reminder:

Tomorrow will be better. Tomorrow will be better. Tomorrow will be better.

XOXO

hollie

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in, forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day, you shall begin it well and serenely…” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

